The Beauty of Knowing Your Purpose…

Last night, when I should have been in bed sleeping, I was laying on the couch watching the end of a movie I haven’t seen in years. The movie starred Bruce Willis and Samuel L. Jackson and was called “Unbreakable.” In this film, Willis’ character is a super hero of sorts, but he doesn’t know it until almost the end. In the beginning of the film, he is the sole-survivor of a horrific train wreck where 131 other passengers died. Willis’ character was unscratched and unharmed. A comic book store owner named Elijah Price (Samuel L. Jackson) contacts him with a crazy theory that Willis’ character is a superhero. Most of the film is Willis denying it but towards the end, things start happening that prove that Samuel L. was right all along!

You may be asking yourself why I’m writing about this. Well, you will soon find out! In one of the very last scenes, Samuel L. Jackson’s character says something that really struck me, and that is why I am writing about this today. That quote was:

“You know what the scariest thing is? To not know your place in this world: To not know why you’re here… That’s… That’s just an awful feeling.”

Upon hearing this quote, my mind went back to my high school years where I had no idea what my purpose was and where my life was going. I had no idea what I was supposed to do after I graduated and honestly, it was “just an awful feeling.” I prayed and prayed and prayed some more but felt no clear direction or leading. I wanted God to answer me but I was getting nothing. I didn’t know why I was here and I didn’t think I actually had a purpose, but three weeks before my high school graduation, God proved me wrong, in His timing.

I heard God clearly calling me into Youth Ministry. His method was perfect and was the only way I think I would have listened at the time. But that is another story for another day. Up until this point, I was scared; I didn’t know my place in the world; and I didn’t know why I was here! But God spoke to me through an ex-girlfriend and here I am today, doing youth ministry full-time and loving every minute of it!

I’m the kind of person that needs reassuring time and time again. Ever since the day God gave me my calling, He has continued to make it apparent to me that this (youth ministry) is the plan He has for my life. He knows how I am wired, how my brain works, and what I need to hear in order to believe and accept something.

To those of you reading this who may not know your purpose or calling yet, I want to encourage you to hang in there. God will make it known to you in His perfect timing. Just trust in Him and continue to seek His will for your life.

His divine power has given us everything we need for life and godliness through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness.” – 2 Peter 1:3

Therefore, my brothers, be all the more eager to make your calling and election sure. For if you do these things (the things mentioned in verses 5-7), you will never fall, and you will receive a rich welcome into the eternal kingdom of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.” – 2 Peter 1:10-11

There is definitely something amazing and comforting about knowing that you are EXACTLY where God wants you to be!

– paulg

One Response to The Beauty of Knowing Your Purpose…

  1. emergingyouth says:

    thanks for your words of encouragement and inspiration. I am grateful that you were called into youth ministry as I am sure your students and church family are as well

Leave a Reply

