I gave in…

On Thursday, I did something I told myself I would never do. I signed up for a twitter account ( http://www.twitter.com ). I first heard about this new phenomenon sometime last year at a retreat that I took my leaders (in my old youth group) to. This was a retreat to Invigorate youth leaders and recharge them for ministry. The retreats goal was to invigorate leaders and was conveniently called “Invigorate 08!” One of the seminars I attended was taught by Jimmy Donaruma. Jimmy taught us about technology and how it can greatly benefit youth ministry. Some topics discussed were: text messaging, facebook, myspace, emailing, instant messaging, and something called twittering (or whatever you call it). I learned a lot at this seminar that I took back and utilized in my youth ministry context (of course, I did tweak some things to make them more applicable to my ministries). One thing that I told myself I would never do was give in and get a twitter account.

You see, I hate facebook and how easy it is for people to “spy” on you, who you talk to, and what you are doing at every second of the day. I will admit however, that facebook has been growing on me somewhat over the past few months. I’m realizing the great potential it has to be used for youth ministry (talking to students, posting events, creating groups for my students, etc.). But because I hated facebook and how easy it was for everyone to see what I was doing 24/7, I didn’t take much of a liking to the idea of posting what I was doing all day everyday on twitter. But, after hearing a lot more about it and how much of a key thing it is becoming in youth ministry, I got one.

The result of my giving in to twitter is that I love it. A lot of my friends have it (some of whom, I haven’t seen or talked to in quite some time). Not only is it a great way to keep in touch with friends and hear about their random thoughts throughout the day, but it is also a great tool for youth ministry. With twitter, I can stay connected to youth pastors, youth leaders, students, etc. Another cool thing is that there are twitter accounts that are geared toward helping people. An example of this are “Teens Ministry,”Youth Min Blog,” “Tweet Prayer,” and other various accounts that I am friends with. These accounts give out helpful tips and ideas each day about youth ministry. I’m sure there are other things out there too that are geared towards other professions. I really like the prayer one that I am signed up to follow. I even opted for this one to come directly to my cell phone each day. The prayer that came today said, “May this be a day of miracles. In all my interactions with others, may I be kind, loving, patient, and selfless. Help me not to be a jerk.”

Yes, this is my prayer…that I may not be a jerk. haha.
Well, this has been my commercial about twitter. You should go sign up for one…or not. It’s up to you.

Hate it or love it…but all I know is that I like it.

That is all!

– paulg

One Response to I gave in…

  1. emergingyouth says:

    Welcome to the Twitter family my friend!

Leave a Reply

