Prayer…

***Please note: This story took place a few months ago while I was still working 3 jobs in New York.***

It was a busy and chaotic Monday afternoon and I couldn’t wait to get out of work. Monday’s were my busiest and most stressful day of the week. That day, like the rest, was out of control. I thought that if one more thing went wrong, I would snap! The day couldn’t get any worse, or so I thought! That morning, I woke up late (causing me to miss my morning devotion time). Because of that, I had to rush to get ready and leave without eating breakfast. On the way to work, I got stuck in traffic for forty-five minutes (this is why I don’t miss driving in New York at all). And as soon as I got to work the chaos started. By the time lunch-time rolled around I felt as if I couldn’t make it anymore. Thankfully, I was able to catch a quick nap in my truck.

The rest of the afternoon was just as bad. All I wanted to do was get away and spend time praying. I needed to pray…I needed God’s help. I missed my morning time with Him and I was definitely feeling empty. But I had no time to pray! I had a thousand things on my mind and a thousand more things to do. How would I find the time to pray? Have you ever asked yourself that? How can we find the time to pray? This is probably the most ridiculous question ever asked.

Praying is simple and can be done at anytime and in any place. It can be done out loud or in your head. It can be written on paper, typed on a computer, sung in the form of a song, or drawn into a piece of art. Prayer can be anything you want it to be. Most importantly though, prayer is a conversation between you and God: a friendly conversation amongst friends! How easy does that sound?

People struggle greatly with prayer. They know that it should be easy, but it often isn’t. They are always busy (I will have to write an article on busyness sometime) and often think that they don’t have time to pray. When they do get the time to sit down and pray, their mind immediately begins to think of all the other things from the day that they need to be doing. They are easily distracted. I can relate to them. I know the importance of prayer…I experience what others do…and I have been working hard to change my prayer habits. Prayer changes things.

Jesus knew the importance of prayer. He often withdrew to lonely places by Himself to spend time in conversation with the Father. What a great example for us to follow. No matter what life throws our way, we should always find/make time to spend with our Heavenly Father. Jesus was never too busy to pray and He was the most important person that ever lived. I think it’s safe to say that we probably aren’t too busy to pray. Maybe we just use that as an excuse to not pray.

1 Thessalonians 5:17 tells us to “pray continually.” Or “pray without ceasing”! This is saying that we should always be communicating with God. In closing, I would just like to encourage you to step away from it all (the things that keep you busy) and find rest and comfort in God.

Prayer changes things!!!

– paulg

Leave a Reply

