Reasons to Praise Him!

As I was sitting on the front porch, reading today’s entry in “Our Daily Bread,” the last thing I read was “God keeps giving us reasons to praise Him!” This brought peace to me as soon as I read it. It comforted me and I could not understand why. However, I would soon find out.

After I did my Bible reading, I moved to the back yard to pray. I sat on a bench near a stream and tried to focus on what God wanted to say to me. I heard a sound across the stream in the woods, I looked up, and I saw a deer. It must have heard me and got scared. It was beautiful. As soon as I saw it my mind went back to the words that I read just minutes before; “God keeps giving us reasons to praise Him!” Why is this significant? You may find yourself asking. Well, don’t you worry. I will tell you.

The reason this is significant is that for the past few months I have been stressed out, worried, scared, depressed, etc. about my job and living situation. As of now, I do not know what God wants me to do. The only definite I have now is that I need a new place to live come August 14. This leaves me scared and confused. I can see myself in a few different scenarios. One of them seems a little more realistic than the other right now. The first one being that I stay here in New York and continue to work my two jobs until a full-time youth ministry position makes itself known to me. This poses a problem though, because as I said, I will not have a place to live. I do have a request in the church bulletin but the only responses I have gotten back thus far are temporary situations (two months or so). I need something long term (a year at the most) that has enough space for me to put all of my furniture and junk in. It also needs to be affordable. And in this area, with my wages, not much is affordable. The second scenario I can envision myself in, is not finding a place to move and being forced to move back home to Western Pennsylvania. In my mind, at this current moment in time, this seems more realistic to me. I do not know why. Maybe it just seems more reasonable, or it is what I really want. I am confused about it and do not know what to do, let alone what God wants me to do.

So, what does all of this have to do with the deer and God giving us reasons to praise Him? I am glad you asked. Two things came to my mind when I saw that deer. The first was God reminding me that He cares for the animals and provides for them when they have nothing. They always have food, water, shelter, and a loving creator. This reminded me of the following passages…

Consider the ravens: They do not sow or reap, they have no storeroom or barn; yet God feeds them. And how much more valuable you are than birds!” – Luke 12:24

If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today, and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, how much more will he clothe you, O you of little faith!” – Luke 12:28

…I was overcome with joy when God brought these passages to my mind. Who am I to worry and doubt that God will provide for me? He provides for the animals of the land so why would He not provide for me…His son, whom He loves and has called to do His work! The second passage reminded me of how I severely lack faith when it comes to big things like this (my future). So, my prayer for the day, and every day, is that God would help me to never lose hope and lack faith. I pray that you, my readers, would pray that as well.

– paulg

4 Responses to Reasons to Praise Him!

  1. Jackie from Pittsburgh :) says:

    Great encouraging words Paul! Continue to write and journal to be able to look back and see God’s faithfulness! Thanks! 🙂

  2. gabby says:

    hey man! i am praying for you and your guidance! because it is so awesome that god is doing similar things in our lives. we are never alone. keep following jesus, no matter how anyone might doubt you. ive seen you, youre a freaking great youth pastor/spiritual guider. lol

  3. Lori says:

    Wow Paul! What an uplifting post. This actually made my night a lot better. Thank you! 🙂

  4. meghan says:

    hey love,
    you are amazing…I love you and I’ll finish my thoughts on this in a message on facebook…

Leave a Reply

